‘The Awful Truth’ Is LOL Funny (Classic Movie Review) ***1/2

The Awfuk Truth with Cary Grant and Irene Dunne

Cary Grant and Irene Dunne Screwing Around in "The Awful Truth"

There are a few movies that make me laugh every time I watch them. “The Awful Truth” (1937) is one of them. Leo MCarey’s screwball comedy is a true gem. It stars Cary Grant and Irene Dunne–with wonderful supporting performances from Ralph Bellamy and others.

Grant and Dunne play a well-to-do married couple, Lucy and Jerry Warriner. However, a little miscommunication leads them to file for divorce. They fight over custody of the dog, then begin to entertain new suitors. But each seems bent on sabotaging the other’s new relationships. Will Lucy and Jerry stay apart forever? Will their own antics do them in? Or are they destined to get back together?

The plot is admittedly light, but it’s witty and clever. The dialogue is brisk, with much of it improvised by the talented cast. McCarey’s direction demonstrates his command of comic timing. Grant and Dunne seem completely relaxed and comfortable together. They verbally spar and play with each other to great effect. Their non-verbal communication and slapstick is often hilarious. Just watch Grant squirm while his date performs a musical number in a club called, “My Dreams Are Gone with the Wind.” Also, watch him fight with a chair in the back of a crowded room while Dunne sings a piano-accompanied solo. Watch Dunne’s absolutely contagious laugh when she sees Grant struggle with the chair and finishes her song. Watch Bellamy and Dunne together in splendid awkwardness as he destroys the song “Home on the Range”. Plus, even the dog is funny.

“The Awful Truth” was nominated for six academy awards, winning one for McCarey’s directon. More importantly though, it’s a total hoot. Light, airy and fun. If you’re ever feeling down, just turn this movie on. It’s guaranteed to make you smile and probably laugh out loud.

Here’s a link to a video of Peter Bogdanovich on TCM’s ‘The Essentials’ giving a good intro and overview of “The Awful Truth” with several clips of the movie.

Rating: 3.5 out of 4 stars
1937, No Rating, 91 minutes, Comedy, Romance

About filmdrift

Amateur film critic, blogger & occasional funny guy in Miami, FL. I write about movies on my blog, filmdrift.com. Keep in touch on twitter, facebook or Google .
This entry was posted in Blast from the Past, Classic Movies, Entertainment, Film, Movie Reviews, Movies and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to ‘The Awful Truth’ Is LOL Funny (Classic Movie Review) ***1/2

  1. MP says:

    I am so bummed.. I read this earlier today and decided to add to my netflix but it’s only in DVD format and I’ll all about the streaming on line.. that and I lost the one DVD I had so I can’t get another one.. You inspired me though to add more Cary Grant to my movie diet.. in a way he was the George Clooney of his day.. don’t you think?

    • filmdrift says:

      Hello. I think The Awful Truth is currently available for download from Amazon. Though, as of today’s date, it looks like the download is $9.99, which seems too much to me. I read recently that Amazon is making streaming movies available with an Amazon Prime membership, which is $79 per year. I don’t know much about that, and I don’t currently subscribe to Amazon Prime, but I just mention in case it helps you. Yes, George Clooney is a good camparison. I hadn’t thought of him, but it makes sense. They’re both handsome leading men types, but they’re also both incredibly talented. Grant was really a pro.

  2. hubzbubz says:

    George Clooney actually reminds me more of Clark Gable–they’re both a little bit more manly than Cary Grant, IMO. I’m so frazzled because after reading your review, I can’t remember if I’ve seen this or not! I’m only 30 yrs old. 🙂

Leave a Reply

