Oscar Picks and Predictions

The King's Speech

Colin Firth and Geoffrey Rush in "The King's Speech"

The Academy Awards will air on February 27. I think the Academy did a pretty good job in narrowing down the best films of 2010.  I love the fact that they name ten nominees in the best picture category–because it’s really not about being the “best;” it’s about recognizing quality filmmaking.  Of course there are always some omissions and great movies which somehow don’t get noticed. But In general, they will be recognizing some very good movies on Sunday.  I thought I’d share below my predictions for the winners in the major categories–as well as my “picks” if I were voting.

First, here are my Oscar predictions (i.e. how I think the Academy will vote):

Best Picture – “The King’s Speech”
Best Director – David Fincher, “The Social Network”
Best Actor – Colin Firth, “The King’s Speech”
Best Actress – Annette Benning, “The Kids Are All Right”
Best Supporting Actor – Christian Bale, “The Fighter”
Best Supporting Actress – Melissa Leo, “The Fighter”
Adapted Screenplay – “The Social Network”
Original Screenplay – “Another Year”
Original Score – “The Social Network”
Original Song – “Toy Story 3”
Animated Feature – “Toy Story 3”
Art Direction – “The King’s Speech”
Cinematography – “True Grit”
Costume Design – “Alice In Wonderland”
Makeup – “The Wolfman”
Visual Effects – “Inception”
Documentary – “Exit Through the Gift Shop”
Film Editing – “The Social Network”
Foreign Language Film – “Biutiful”

The Fighter

Mark Wahlberg and Christian Bale in "The Fighter"

And here’s who I would pick if I was voting (assuming the same nominees):

Best Picture – “The King’s Speech”
Best Director – Tom Hooper, “The King’s Speech”
Best Actor – Javier Bardiem, “Biutiful”
Best Actress – Michelle Williams, “Blue Valentine”
Best Supporting Actor – Mark Ruffalo, “The Kids Are All Right”
Best Supporting Actress – Helena Bonham Carter, “The King’s Speech”
Adapted Screenplay – “Winter’s Bone”
Original Screenplay – “Another Year”
Original Score – “The Social Network”
Original Song – “Tangled”
Animated Feature – “Toy Story 3”
Art Direction – “The King’s Speech”
Cinematography – “The King’s Speech”
Costume Design – “The King’s Speech”
Makeup – “Barney’s Version”
Visual Effects – “Inception”
Documentary – “Restrepo”
Film Editing – “The Social Network”
Foreign Language Film – “Biutiful”

Just a side note: The two Oscar lists above should not be confused with my favorite films and actors of the year, some of which were not nominated by the Academy.  Even though I’ve seen nearly 80 movies from 2010, there’s still another 15 or so I’d like to see before I feel I can name my top movies of the year (not that anyone cares at this point, haha).   Hopefully I’ll be able to name my top movies from 2010 before the summer.  🙂

About filmdrift

Amateur film critic, blogger & occasional funny guy in Miami, FL. I write about movies on my blog, filmdrift.com. Keep in touch on twitter, facebook or Google .
This entry was posted in Entertainment, Film, Movie News, Movie Topics, Movies and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Oscar Picks and Predictions

  1. Kristin says:

    I think most of your predictions are pretty spot-on except for Best Actress. Everyone’s saying it’s Natalie Portman’s year.

  2. Gloria says:

    I’ll be writing my predictions as well. I was shocked at how awesome Winter’s Bone was and would also have voted it best adapted screenplay. It was a damn good story.

  3. Katie Leiataua says:

    Bening for Best Actress instead of Portman…well, that’s my opinion.

  4. ginabyun says:

    I really wish The King’s Speech will win Best Picture. But I have strong feeling that the Academy may choose The Social Network, judging from how well it did at other awards. I think Portman was very lucky to play in Black Swan… Well, she’s a good actress after all.

  5. Tati says:

    Well, I just hope The Social Network doesn’t win. That would be so unfair to The King’s Speech and Black Swan.

  6. Wow. Your blog could totally beat up my blog. Any change you’d be will to email with me? If so… katie.sirles@gmail.com is the way to go. Thanks for being so great!

  7. jkdarkseid says:

    I’m a bit annoyed that Social Netowrk most likely won’t win with that oscar bait King’s Speech around. It was easily my best film of the year, even above Inception. I loved the editing, so it should at least get an award for that.

Leave a Reply

