8 Movies I Look Forward to Seeing This Summer

A scene from Captain America

A scene from "Captain America"

I’ve been feeling a bit under the weather recently, so no full movie reviews this week.  But I thought I’d preview 8 movies scheduled to be released this summer in the U.S. I’m excited about these!

1. First up is “The Tree of Life” directed by Terrence Malick who also directed the great film “The Thin Red Line.” Honestly, I have no idea what this mysterious movie set partly in the 1950’s is about, but it has great actors (Brad Pitt, Sean Penn,) and the trailer shows off some incredible cinematography. Yes, I know the film’s limited release is planned for May 27, but that’s summer enough for me.

The Tree of Life

"The Tree of Life"

2. “Super 8.” Steven Spielberg produced it. J. J. Abrams directed it. It’s sci-fi set in 1979. Enough said. June 10.

Super 8

"Super 8"

3. “Winnie the Pooh” is a new adventure featuring classic Disney animation. It looks rich and adorable. July 15.

Winnie the Pooh

Disney's "Winnie the Pooh"

4. “Another Earth.”  A duplicate earth is discovered in our solar system. Just look at that image below. Looks soooooooo cool. July 20.

Another Earth

"Another Earth"

5. “Captain America.” There are a lot of comic hero movies on tap this summer, but “Captain America” is the one I’m looking forward to the most.  I love that retro style art-direction. July 22.

Captain America The First Avenger

"Captain America: The First Avenger"

6. “Cowboys and Aliens.” Well, there are aliens, and there are cowboys. What more do you need?  Throw in Harrison Ford, Daniel Craig and Sam Rockwell plus Jon Favreau’s direction, and, well, you get the idea. July 29.

Cowboys and Aliens

"Cowboys and Aliens"

7. “Rise of the Planet of the Apes.” The movie may end up being trash, but the makeup on the ape-man (see below) has me enthralled. August 5.

Rise of the Planet of the Apes

"Rise of the Planet of the Apes"

8. “Don’t Be Afraid of the Dark.” Troy Nixey previously directed a wonderful short film called “Latchkey’s Lament.”  He has teamed up with acclaimed filmmaker Guillermo del Toro (“Pan’s Labyrinth,” “Hellboy”) to create this spook-a-thon based on a 1970’s TV movie. I’ve seen the trailer a dozen times, and it still scares the crap out of me. Stars Katie Holmes and Guy Pearce. August 13.

Don't Be Afraid of the Dark

"Don't Be Afraid of the Dark"

(Note: Release dates are subject to change.)

About filmdrift

Amateur film critic, blogger & occasional funny guy in Miami, FL. I write about movies on my blog, filmdrift.com. Keep in touch on twitter, facebook or Google .
This entry was posted in Entertainment, Film, Movie News, Movie Topics, Movies and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to 8 Movies I Look Forward to Seeing This Summer

  1. Pingback: 8 Movies I Look Forward to Seeing This Summer (via filmdrift) | The Calculable

Leave a Reply

