The Three Best (and Worst) Movies So Far in 2011

We ‘ve just passed the one-third mark of the year.  I’ve watched about thirty movies in theaters in 2011.  So I thought it would be fitting to give a recap of my three favorite–and least favorite–movies of the year (so far).

The Three Best:

Before I name my three picks, I’ll just briefly mention my runners-up.  I liked “Jane Eyre,” the wonderful, moody love story based on the Bronte novel.  I almost choose “Rango,” the bright and crisply animated chameleon-voiced-by-Johnny-Depp movie. I also enjoyed the wrestling drama “Win Win” and the thriller “Hanna.” But I have settled on the following three movie gems:

poetry-movie

Jeong-hie Yun in "Poetry"

1. “Poetry” (also known as “Shi” in Korean), is a sublime film that lingers with me. It features a staggering performance by Jeong-hie Yun.  Here is my mini-review of the film.

Potiche

Catherine Deneuve (center) with Judith Godreche (L) and Karin Viard (R) in "Potiche"

2. “Potiche” is the french farce-with-a-message which proves that Catherine Deneuve has still got it.  Click here to read my review.

The Lincoln Lawyer Movie

"The Lincoln Lawyer"

3. “The Lincoln Lawyer.”  For my third choice, I decided to go with the stylish and satisfying crime drama “The Lincoln Lawyer.” My review is here.

The Three, Um, Not-So-Good:

While “Sucker Punch” might be the “go-to” worst film of the year, I actually thought the film had some merit (which you can read about in my review here).  Instead, I’m going with the following three movies:

Aaron Eckhart in Battle Los Angeles

Pictured is Aaron Eckhart in "Battle: Los Angeles"

1. “Battle: Los Angeles.”  I know, I know.  Some folks (a lot of folks) liked this film.  I did not, as evidenced in my review here.

Atlas Shrugged: Part 1

Taylor Schilling and Graham Beckel in "Atlas Shrugged: Part 1"

2. “Atlas Shrugged: Part 1” is a dreary, boring, amateurish, recruitment soap opera about Randian economics. Yay. Fun. Here’s my review.

Your Highness

Rasmus Hardiker and Danny McBride in "Your Highness"

3. “Your Highness.” Okay, I admit I laughed, and there was some decent action in the film.  But overall, it’s mostly a dud.  My mini-review is here.

So there you have them–my three favorite and least favorite movies so far this year. But we still have lots of 2011 left to go. Stay tuned . . .

-Sam

About filmdrift

Amateur film critic, blogger & occasional funny guy in Miami, FL. I write about movies on my blog, filmdrift.com. Keep in touch on twitter, facebook or Google .
This entry was posted in Entertainment, Film, Movie Reviews, Movie Topics, Movies and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to The Three Best (and Worst) Movies So Far in 2011

  1. Pingback: The Three Best (and Worst) Movies So Far in 2011 (via filmdrift) | The Calculable

  2. Logan Burd says:

    You should check out my list! I have both Battle: LA and Your Highness on one of them, you should comment and subscribe!

Leave a Reply

