A Dozen Recent Movies (with Star Ratings)

the-double-hour

A scene from "The Double Hour"

I enjoy writing about movies. But I admit that I enjoy watching movies more than writing about them. As a result, I sometimes get ahead of myself. Now is one of those times to play catch-up. Below are a dozen movies I’ve seen in the past couple of weeks. They probably deserve full reviews here, but due to life’s other responsibilities, I doubt I’ll be able to get that done. So here, I am cleaning my slate, presenting 12 films with their directors and my star ratings. More reviews coming soon.

  • “Captain America: The First Avenger” (Joe Johnston) ***
  • “The Double Hour” (Giuseppe Capotondi) ***
  • “The Trip” (Michael Winterbottom) ***
  • “A Screaming Man” (Mahamat-Saleh Haroun) ***
  • “Neds” (Peter Mullan) ***
  • “A Boy Called Dad” (Brian Percival) ** 1/2
  • “Cowboys and Aliens” (Jon Favreau) **
  • “Project Nim” (James Marsh) *** 1/2
  • “The Perfect Host” (Nick Tomnay) ***
  • “Crazy, Stupid, Love” (Glen Ficarra & John Requa) **
  • “The Change-Up” (David Dobkin) **
  • “Rise of the Planet of the Apes” (Rupert Wyatt) ***

About filmdrift

Amateur film critic, blogger & occasional funny guy in Miami, FL. I write about movies on my blog, filmdrift.com. Keep in touch on twitter, facebook or Google .
This entry was posted in Film, Movie Reviews, Movies and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

